To free up physical resources currently associated with a workload domain that you no longer have a need for, you must delete the workload domain. After the workload domain is deleted, the physical resources are returned to the pool of available capacity in your Cloud Foundation environment.
About this task
Deleting a workload domain is a destructive and irreversible operation. All VMs within the workload domain are deleted and the underlying Virtual SAN environment is destroyed. If you accidentally delete a workload domain, all of its data will be lost.
During the deletion process, other Domain view windows may open more slowly.
Resources in the workload domain that are shared or in common with other workload domains are not deleted in this process. For example, for VDI workload domains, if a View Composer virtual machine is shared among multiple VDI workload domains, that View Composer virtual machine is not removed by this process.
Ensure that any user data that you want retained after the workload domain deletion is backed up. You are responsible for backing up such user data.
Ensure that any virtual machines that you deployed into the workload domain and that you want retained after the workload domain deletion are migrated. You are responsible for migrating the virtual machines that you deployed in the workload domain.
- From the SDDC Manager dashboard, navigate to the workload domain's details page.
- In the Domain Details page, click DELETE DOMAIN.
A confirmation window appears.
- Click Delete.
The deleted workload remains visible in the Domain Details window until the deletion process is completed.
A message indicating the status of the workflow appears at the top of the Domain Details window. To confirm the progress of the delete workflow's tasks, navigate to the System Status page and and drill-down to the details about the workflow.