Workload domains are logical units that carve up the compute, network, and storage resources of the VMware Cloud Foundation system. The logical units are groups of ESXi hosts managed by vCenter Server instances with specific characteristics for redundancy and VMware best practices.

The first workload domain, referred to as the management domain, is created by during bring-up. The VMware Cloud Foundation software stack is deployed within the management domain. Additional infrastructure virtual machines which provide common services, such as backup or security appliances, can also be deployed in the management domain.

Each workload domain include these VMware capabilities by default:

  • vCenter Server Appliance
  • vSphere High Availability (HA)
  • vSphere Distributed Resource Scheduler (DRS)
  • vSphere Distributed Switch
  • VMware vSAN
  • NSX Manager Cluster