When you delete a desktop pool, users can no longer launch new remote desktops in the pool.

Depending on the type of desktop pool, you have various options regarding how Horizon 7 handles persistent disks, vCenter Server full virtual machines, and users' active sessions.

By default, you can delete a desktop pool even if desktop machines exist in the pool. For details, see "Configure Desktop Pool Deletion Setting" in the Setting Up Virtual Desktops in Horizon 7 document. If you configure the setting, you must delete all the machines in a desktop pool before you can delete the pool.

With an automated desktop pool of instant clones, Horizon 7 always deletes the virtual machines from disk.

Important: Do not delete the virtual machines in vCenter Server before you delete a desktop pool with Horizon Console. This action could put Horizon 7 components into an inconsistent state.

Procedure

  1. In Horizon Console, select Inventory > Desktops.
  2. Select a desktop pool and click Delete.
  3. Choose how to delete the desktop pool.
    Pool Options
    Automated desktop pool of instant clones without persistent disks. No available options. Horizon 7 deletes all virtual machines from disk. Users' sessions to their remote desktops are terminated.
    Automated desktop pool of full virtual machines. Choose whether to keep or delete the virtual machines in vCenter Server.
    RDS desktop pool.

    Automated desktop pool of full virtual machines.

    If there are users who are connected to their remote desktops, choose whether to keep users' sessions active or terminate them. Note that Connection Server does not keep track of sessions that are kept active.

Results

When you delete a desktop pool, full virtual machines' computer accounts remain in Active Directory. To remove these accounts, you must manually delete them from Active Directory.

If you delete an instant-clone desktop pool, it can take some time for Horizon 7 to delete the internal VMs from vCenter Server. Do not remove vCenter Server from Horizon Console until you verify that all the internal VMs are deleted.