When the Geolocation Redirection feature is enabled for a remote desktop or published application, you can share the client system's location information with the remote desktop or published application.

To share the client system's location information, you must configure a setting in Horizon Client.

Prerequisites

A Horizon administrator must configure the Geolocation Redirection feature for the remote desktop or published application.

This task includes enabling the Geolocation Redirection feature when you install Horizon Agent. It also includes setting group policies to configure Geolocation Redirection features, and enabling the VMware Horizon Geolocation Redirection IE Plugin. For complete requirements, see System Requirements for Geolocation Redirection.

Procedure

  1. Connect to a server.
  2. Open the Settings dialog box and select Geolocation in the left pane.
    • Click the Settings (gear) icon in the upper-right corner of the desktop and application selector window.

    • Right-click a remote desktop or published application in the desktop and application selector window and select Settings.

  3. Configure the geolocation settings.

    Option

    Action

    Share the client system's location information with remote desktops and published applications

    Select the Share your location check box.

    Do not show the Geolocation dialog box when you connect to a remote desktop or published application

    Select the Do not show dialog when connecting a desktop or application check box. The Geolocation dialog box asks you whether you want to share location information with a remote desktop or published application.

    If this check box is deselected, the Geolocation dialog box appears the first time you connect to a remote desktop or published application. For example, if you log in to a server and connect to a remote desktop, you see the Geolocation dialog box. If you then connect to another remote desktop or published application, you do not see the dialog box again. To see the dialog box again, you must disconnect from the server and log in again.

  4. To save your changes, click Apply.
  5. To close the dialog box, click OK.