If you have deployed multiple VMware Identity Manager virtual appliances in a cluster for failover or high availability, you can upgrade the nodes one at a time. Expect some downtime during upgrade and plan the timing of your upgrade accordingly.


  1. Take snapshots of the database and the VMware Identity Manager nodes.
  2. Remove all nodes except one from the load balancer.
  3. Upgrade the node that is still connected to the load balancer.

    Follow the process for an online or offline upgrade, as described in Upgrading VMware Identity Manager Online or Upgrading VMware Identity Manager Offline.


    Expect some downtime during the upgrade process.

  4. After the node is upgraded, leave it connected to the load balancer.

    This ensures that the VMware Identity Manager service is available while you upgrade the other nodes.

  5. Upgrade the other nodes one at a time.
  6. Verify that RabbitMQ is not running in cluster mode in the upgraded nodes.

    In 2.9.1 and later releases, RabbitMQ clustering has been disabled.

    Follow these commands for each upgraded node.

    1. Log in to the upgraded node.
    2. Run the following command:

      rabbitmqctl cluster_status

      The command should return status similar to the following:

      sva-1:~ # rabbitmqctl cluster_status
      Cluster status of node 'rabbitmq@sva-1' ...
    3. If the status includes references to any node other than the one on which you ran the rabbitmqctl cluster_status command, run the following commands:
      1. Stop RabbitMQ.

        rabbitmqctl stop_app

      2. Reset RabbitMQ

        rabbitmqctl force_reset

      3. Start RabbitMQ.

        rabbitmqctl start_app

  7. After all the nodes are upgraded, add them back to the load balancer.