NSX-T Data Center supports multisite deployments where you can manage all the sites from one NSX Manager cluster.

Two types of multisite deployments are supported:
  • Active-active
  • Disaster recovery

In an active-active deployment, all the sites are active and layer 2 traffic crosses the site boundaries. In a disaster recovery deployment, NSX-T Data Center at the primary site handles networking for the enterprise. The secondary site is standing by to take over if a catastrophic failure occurs at the primary site.

The following diagram illustrates an active-active deployment.

multisite active-active deployment

In an active-active deployment, if the primary gateway fails, it will fail over to the secondary gateway. If the primary site fails, all the steps described for disaster recovery below have to be completed.

The following diagram illustrates a disaster recovery deployment.

multisite disaster recovery deployment

The following diagram illustrates how disaster recovery occurs.

multisite disaster recovery steps
The recovery steps are:
  1. Change the DNS record so that the NSX Manager cluster has different IP addresses.
  2. Restore the NSX Manager cluster from a backup.
  3. Connect the transport nodes to the new NSX Manager cluster.
  4. Transfer tier-1 gateways from NSX Edge clusters at the primary site to NSX Edge clusters at the secondary site.
  5. Recover the VMs.

Requirements for Multisite Deployments

Inter-site Communication
  • The bandwidth must be at least 1 Gbps and the latency (RTT) must be less than 150 ms.
  • MTU must be at least 1600. 9000 is recommended.
NSX Manager Configuration
  • Automatic backup when NSX-T Data Center configuration changes must be enabled.
  • NSX Manager must be set up to use FQDN.
Data Plane Recovery
  • The same internet provider must be used if public IP addresses are exposed through services such as NAT or load balancer.
Cloud Management System
  • The cloud management system (CMS) must support an NSX-T Data Center plug-in. In this release, VMware Integrated OpenStack (VIO) and vRealize Automation (vRA) satisfy this requirement.


  • No local-egress capabilities. All north-south traffic must occur within one site.
  • Compute disaster recovery orchestration must support NSX-T Data Center.