1. Install compatible versions of vSphere/vCenter.
  2. Create a HA cluster for the hosts and enable HA.
    1. From vCenter Console, select Create a cluster.
    2. For vSphere HA, check out turn on.
      Note: Also check out , monitoring and admission control.
    3. Click ok.
  3. Start VMs on the hosts as per the deployment plan and install Smart Assurance components. For more information refer to deployment plan and Smart Assurance UI Installation guide.
  4. Ensure whether HA setup is done properly. Follow the steps to verify it:
    1. Select Cluster.
    2. In right pane, select Monitor tab.
    3. Select vSphere HA tab.
    4. In the left pane, select Summary.

    Verify that primary IP, No. of hosts connected to primary, and Number of protected VMs are correct.

  5. Select the VMs for FT.
    Note: FT is very resource intensive, it is recommended to enable it only for the mission critical VMs. Otherwise it will have performance impact.

    For example in Smart Assurance deployment we have recommended it for main VM running ESM/SAM,DCF controller, UI, and EventStore as we want to ensure zero downtime for this particular VM. Otherwise it may lead to loss of service.

  6. Enable the FT for the VMs:
    1. Right click on the VM and click on Enable Fault tolerance.
    2. On the pop up window, select data store/host for the secondary host.
    3. Click Finish to complete the FT.
  7. Verify whether FT is enabled for the VM: Check whether Primary and secondary VMs are running.
    1. In the vCenter console, select the FT VM.

      In the right pane, choose Summary Tab.

      On below page, look for widget Fault Tolerance

      1. Fault Tolerance Status must be Protected.
      2. Secondary VM location must be another host in cluster.
    2. By logging in to vSphere console of each host, FT VM must be visible on both Primary/secondary Host.