This architecture consists of a centralized management workload domain along with workload domains to support the required workloads.

Management Workload Domain

The management workload domain contains a single vSphere cluster called the management cluster. The management cluster hosts the Virtual Machines (VMs) that manage the solution. This cluster is crucial for the management and monitoring of the solution. Its high availability deployment ensures that the management and monitoring services are always available.

Table 1. Management Workload Domain Components



Management vCenter Server

Manages the Management Workload Domain.

Compute vCenter Server

Manages the Compute Workload Domain.

NSX Manager

Three instances of NSX Manager are used in a cluster.

vRealize Suite Standard

Includes vRealize Log Insight and vRealize Operations.

vRealize Network Insight

Communicates with the vCenter Server and NSX Manager instances to collect metrics that are presented through various dashboards and views.

vRealize Orchestrator

Workflow engine, fully integrated with Telco Cloud Automation

Telco Cloud Automation

Includes TCA Manager and TCA-CPs.

Tanzu Standard for Telco Management cluster templates

Creates Workload clusters in the compute Workload domain.

Figure 1. Management Workload Domain
Management Workload Domain

Compute Workload Domains

The compute workload domain can contain multiple vSphere clusters. Each cluster can contain a minimum of two ESXi hosts and a maximum of 96 (or 64 hosts when using vSAN), depending on the resource and availability requirements of the solution being deployed.

The Edge cluster, which hosts NSX Edge VMs, is part of the compute workload domain. This cluster provides virtualized network services such as load balancers and the north-south routing infrastructure to support the workloads.

Each compute workload domain can support a maximum of 2000 ESXi hosts and 25,000 VMs. If you use other management and monitoring tools, the vCenter maximums do not apply and the actual number of ESXi hosts and VMs per workload domain might be less.


Tanzu Kubernetes Grid Management cluster can be deployed in the Management Workload Domain, or the Compute Workload Domain based on the customer requirements. The recommendation is to use the Management Workload Domain.

Figure 2. Compute Workload Domain
Compute Workload Domain