After you deploy the NSX-T workload domain, you add the ESXi hosts for Availability Zone 2 to the cluster of the workload domain. When you turn on the stretched cluster features, you place these hosts in the secondary fault domain of the cluster.


  1. In a Web browser, log in to vCenter Server by using the vSphere Client.
    Setting Value
    URL https://sfo01m01vc01.sfo01.rainpole.local/ui
    User name administrator@vsphere.local
    Password vsphere_admin_password
  2. Right-click the sfo01-w01-shared01 cluster, and select Add hosts.

    The Add hosts wizard opens.

  3. Add the ESXi hosts for Availability Zone 2 to the cluster of the workload domain.
    1. On the Add hosts page, select Use same credentials for all hosts, configure the settings, and click Next.

      ESXi Host FQDN

      User name


      sfo02w01esx01.sfo01.rainpole.local root esxi_root_password
    2. In the Security Alert dialog box, select all ESXi hosts, and, to confirm the validity of the host certificates, click OK .

      A trusted connection between vCenter Server and the ESXi hosts is established using the host certificates for SSL handshake.

    3. On the Host summary page, review the host information and click Next.
    4. On the Ready to complete page, click Finish.
  4. On the sfo01-w01-shared01 cluster page, click the Hosts tab.
  5. Select all ESXi hosts, right-click and select Maintenance mode > Exit maintenance mode.
  6. Select all ESXi hosts, and from the Actions drop-down menu, select Assign License.
  7. On the Assign license dialog box, select the ESXi license from the inventory, and click OK.