In VMware Cloud Foundation, after you configure Availability Zone 2 and deploy the vSAN witness appliance in a third location, turn on the vSAN stretched cluster functionality, and set fault domains and the vSAN witness host.


  1. In a Web browser, log in to vCenter Server by using the vSphere Client.
    Setting Value
    URL https://sfo01m01vc01.sfo01.rainpole.local/ui
    User name administrator@vsphere.local
    Password vsphere_admin_password
  2. In the Hosts and clusters inventory, expand sfo01w01vc01.sfo01.rainpole.local.
  3. Select the sfo01-w01-shared01 cluster and click the Configure tab.
  4. In the vSAN section, select Fault Domains .
  5. Under Fault Domains, next to Configuration type click Configure Stretched Cluster.

    The Configure stretched cluster wizard opens.

  6. On the Configure fault domains page, configure the settings and click Next.



    Preferred domain


    Secondary domain


    Preferred domain members


    Secondary domain members

    • sfo01w01esx01.sfo01.rainpole.local
    • sfo01w01esx02.sfo01.rainpole.local
    • sfo01w01esx03.sfo01.rainpole.local
    • sfo01w01esx04.sfo01.rainpole.local
  7. On the Select witness host page, expand the sfo01-w01dc center in the sfo01w01vc01.sfo01.rainpole.local tree, select the sfo03w01vsanw01.sfo01.rainpole.local host, and click Next.
  8. On the Claim disks for witness host page, select the disks for each tier, click Next, and click Finish.



    Local VMware Disk (mpx.vmhba1:C0:T2:L0)

    Cache tier

    Local VMware Disk (mpx.vmhba1:C0:T1:L0)

    Capacity tier