You should not perform a device wipe through Workspace ONE UEM on an enrolled device. Instead, perform an enterprise wipe, so the user is forced to re-enroll when it is reactivated. To discourage a device wipe, Workspace ONE UEM displays an additional warning in the UEM console when performing the command.

If a device wipe is performed, the device must be factory reset using iTunes or Apple Configurator 2.

Additionally, Workspace ONE UEM recommends restricting the Self-Service Portal (SSP) role for end users from using the device wipe command. You can configure these roles by navigating to Accounts > Users > Roles.