When any user logs in, the data belonging to that user is accessible and other user's data is securely stored in separate partition. When users log in and out of the Shared iPad, they only want to see the apps that are assigned and applicable to their account. One way to do this is to install all a user's apps when they log in and remove them when they log out. However, this is slow and inefficient because users must wait for apps to install on each login.

Prerequisites

Only Internal and Device Based Licensed apps synced from Apple Business Manager (public and custom) are supported on Shared iPads.

With the Shared iPad for Business in Workspace ONE UEM, apps that are assigned to a user will only be installed on that user's first login to the Shared iPad. Each subsequent login will not reinstall the assigned apps. After the user logs out, these apps will be hidden rather than removed. This provides a better, secure experience as the device is shared among multiple users.

Note:

Internal apps will install as new apps if the currently installed version is different than the highest assigned version of the logged in user. This occurs even if the new version is lower than the currently installed version. For example, if version2 of an app is installed on the device, but version1 is the highest version assigned to the logged in user, version1 will be installed and replace version2.

Here is a simple workflow to describe the typical Shared iPads app management concept.

  1. You get a new iPad and it is enrolled. A first user User1 logs in and that user is assigned App1, App2, and App3 and set for automatic deployment. All three apps are installed for the first time. User1 logs out.

  2. User2 logs in and is assigned App3, App4. For User2, App1 and App2 are hidden automatically using a restriction configuration profile. This is managed by Workspace ONE UEM and doesn't require any admin actions to deplo. App3 is displayed because User2 is assigned this app and App4 installs for the first time on user's iPad.

At any point, for any user, only user's assigned apps are visible on the screen and the rest is hidden. Other users' data is inherently secure because each user has their own data partition.