Deactivating an application, removes it from devices and makes the version inactive. Depending on their relation to the inactive version, Workspace ONE UEM pushes or makes available active versions to devices. A benefit of deactivation is that you can reverse an inactive status in the future.

Deactivate does not delete an application from your repository in the Workspace ONE UEM console. You can still view deactivated applications in the Workspace ONE UEM console so that you can track devices that remove applications.

Numbered Active Versions

Active versions of an inactive app (deactivated) either push to devices or are still available to devices.
  • Lower numbered version – If there is a lower numbered, active version of the application, then that lower version pushes to devices.
  • Higher numbered version – If there is a higher numbered, active version in a higher organization group, that version is still available to devices.

When to Use Deactivate

Your organization is changing strategies and no longer needs applications and their versions that reflect the old focus. You can deactivate unnecessary applications so that they no longer clutter application repositories on devices. However, you can still access them in the Workspace ONE UEM console.