check-circle-line exclamation-circle-line close-line

<

The lifecycle of a workflow includes the following phases:

Save a Workflow without Publishing the Workflow

An admin can create workflows and save the workflows at any time, even if the workflow state is incomplete. You can view all the saved workflows in Freestyle Orchestrator dashboard list view. You can resume editing of any saved workflow at any time. All the required elements and steps must be complete before publishing your workflow.

Publish a Workflow on an End User Device

When all the required elements within a workflow are complete and the workflow steps have no errors, you can publish the workflow to your end user devices. After you save and publish your workflow, the resources within a workflow do not get installed on the devices. When the device regularly checks for any updates, the workflow resources start installing. Once a workflow is published, any additional changes to the workflow are also published without an intermediate save option.

Update a Workflow

After you successfully publish the workflow to the devices, you can modify the individual resources in a workflow or change the workflow itself. When you modify the workflow or the workflow resources, you create a newer version of the workflow. You can publish a newer version of the workflow to the devices. When the devices check-in for updates, the devices receive a new version of the workflow, else, the device is marked out-of-date.

Note: Changing the workflow assignments do not trigger a new version of the workflow.

As an admin, you can perform the following changes on the workflows:

  • You can change the platform of the workflow while creating a workflow. If you change the platform, the following warning message appears: 'Changing the platform will erase all the other resources, steps, actions you have entered into the workflow. Are you sure you want to continue?'
  • You can search for applications based on the following categories: Platform, Managed by, and Categories
  • You can reorder the steps in a workflow after you create the steps in a workflow.
  • When an admin selects an application based on an application name; the admin must be able to see all the available versions for a selected application at the OG where the application is managed.

Pause a Workflow

In case, there is an issue with the workflow deployment, you can pause the deployment using the Pause action. The administrator can modify the workflow to make the necessary changes and resume the deployment of the workflow to the devices.

Delete a Workflow

You can delete a workflow when the workflow is no longer applicable to devices. If you have the permissions, you can delete any workflow created at a given organization group (OG). Deleting the workflow does not trigger the removal of resources from the assigned devices.

To delete a workflow, perform the following steps:

  1. Open the Workspace ONE UEM console.
  2. Navigate to Freestyle > Freestyle Orchestrator dashboard.
  3. Select the workflow to be deleted and click Delete. The following warning message is displayed: 'Deleting this workflow will remove the resource assignment from the devices in this workflow. This action cannot be undone. Resources currently installed on the devices will remain unless manually removed. To remove the installed resources, navigate to the Device Details view for each device, or the Assigned Devices view for each resource. Do you want to continue?'
  4. Click Delete to delete the workflow else click Cancel to retain the workflow. When you click Delete, the workflow is deleted from Freestyle Orchestrator dashboard.