When you delete a snapshot, you delete the state of the virtual machine that you preserved and you can never return to that state again. Deleting a snapshot does not affect the current state of the virtual machine.

About this task

If a snapshot is used to create a clone, the snapshot becomes locked. If you delete a locked snapshot, the clones created from the snapshot no longer operate.

You cannot delete a snapshot if the associated virtual machine is designated as a template for cloning.

Procedure

  1. Select the virtual machine and select VM > Snapshot > Snapshot Manager.
  2. If you are deleting an AutoProtect snapshot, select Show AutoProtect snapshots.
  3. Select the snapshot.
  4. Select an option to delete the snapshot.

    Option

    Action

    Delete a single snapshot

    Click Delete.

    Delete the snapshot and all of its children

    Right-click and select Delete Snapshot and Children.

    Delete all snapshots

    Right-click, select Select All, and click Delete.

  5. Click Close to close the snapshot manager.