vRealize Network Insight classifies intents as either system-defined or user-defined.

System-defined intents are provided out-of-the-box and you cannot edit or delete them. However, you can clone a system-defined intent to create a user-defined copy, which you can then edit. System-defined intents are enabled by default, but you can disable them. vRealize Network Insight allows you to define and configure new intents, which are called user-defined intents. You can edit, delete, and duplicate these intents. You can select individual or multiple user-defined intents to enable or disable them.

Periodically, vRealize Network Insight will verify whether each intent is met in your network. If the system determines that the intent’s specified conditions are true at that time, it marks the intent status as Pass. If the intent’s specified conditions are not true, the system raises an event corresponding to this problem and marks the intent status as Fail. If the events associated with an intent are closed or archived, then the intent status becomes Pass

You can access the Intents page from the main left navigation bar. You can view the count of all intents and also count of each individual type on this page. You can click on each count to filter and view the details of specific type of intents.

vRealize Network Insight supports many different types of intents for a range of purposes. These intent types are grouped into three broad categories:
  • Device Health
  • Network Health
  • STIG
    Note: STIG intents are supported for the following devices only:
    • Cisco ASA, Cisco Catalyst, Cisco Nexus
    • Juniper EX and QFX

You can filter the intents based on the intent type or intent category. You can view the count of events raised by each intent, and you can click this count to see the event details.

You can also view the intent status (Pass or Fail) and the severity (Critical, Moderate, Warning, Info) of each available intent.

You can also search intents in the list based on their names.