When you remove a role that is not assigned to any users or groups, the definition is removed from the list of roles. When you remove a role that is assigned to a user or group, you can remove assignments or replace them with an assignment to another role.
You must understand how users will be affected before removing all assignments or replacing them. Users who have no permissions granted to them cannot log in.
Verify that you are logged in as a user with Administrator privileges, such as root or vpxuser.
- On the vSphere Client Home page, click Roles.
- Click the object you want to remove in the list of roles.
- Select .
- Click OK.
The role is removed from the list.
If the role is assigned to a user or group, a warning message appears.
- Select a reassignment option and click OK.
Remove Role Assignments
Removes configured user or group and role pairings on the server. If a user or group does not have other permissions assigned, they lose all privileges.
Reassign affected users to
Reassigns any configured user or group and role pairings to the selected new role.