You can set specific responses to host failures that occur in your vSphere HA cluster.

This page is editable only if you have activated vSphere HA.


  1. In the vSphere Client, browse to the vSphere HA cluster.
  2. Click the Configure tab.
  3. Select vSphere Availability and click Edit.
  4. Click Failures and Responses and then expand Host Failure Response.
  5. Select from the following configuration options.
    Option Description
    Failure Response If you select Disabled, this setting turns off host monitoring and VMs are not restarted when host failures occur. If Restart VMs is selected, VMs are failed over based on their restart priority when a host fails.
    Default VM Restart Priority The restart priority determines the order in which virtual machines are restarted when the host fails. Higher priority virtual machines are started first. If multiple hosts fail, all virtual machines are migrated from the first host in order of priority, then all virtual machines from the second host in order of priority, and so on.
    VM Restart Priority Condition A specific condition must be selected as well as a delay after that condition has been met, before vSphere HA is allowed to continue to the next VM restart priority.
  6. Click OK.


Your settings for the host failure response take effect.