On each host that you want to add to a vSphere HA cluster, you must configure two different networking switches (vMotion and FT logging) so that the host can support vSphere Fault Tolerance.

To set up Fault Tolerance for a host, you must complete this procedure for each port group option (vMotion and FT logging) to ensure that sufficient bandwidth is available for Fault Tolerance logging. Select one option, finish this procedure, and repeat the procedure a second time, selecting the other port group option.


Multiple gigabit Network Interface Cards (NICs) are required. For each host supporting Fault Tolerance, a minimum of two physical NICs is recommended. For example, you need one dedicated to Fault Tolerance logging and one dedicated to vMotion. Use three or more NICs to ensure availability. See Fault Tolerance Requirements, Limits, and Licensing.


  1. In the vSphere Client, browse to the host.
  2. Click the Configure tab and click Networking.
  3. Select VMkernel adapters.
  4. Click the Add Networking icon.
  5. Provide appropriate information for your connection type.
  6. Click Finish.


After you create both a vMotion and Fault Tolerance logging virtual switch, you can create other virtual switches, as needed. Add the host to the cluster and complete any steps needed to turn on Fault Tolerance.

What to do next

Note: If you configure networking to support FT but subsequently suspend the Fault Tolerance logging port, pairs of fault tolerant virtual machines that are powered on remain powered on. If a failover situation occurs, when the Primary VM is replaced by its Secondary VM a new Secondary VM is not started, causing the new Primary VM to run in a Not Protected state.