You define fault symptoms, which are based on events published by the monitored systems, so that you can add one or more symptoms to an alert definition. You use the triggered symptoms to resolve alerts or troubleshoot other problems in vRealize Operations Cloud.

How Fault Symptom Definitions Work

A fault symptom is triggered when a fault is active on the base object because of the occurrence of any of the fault events selected in the symptom definition.

Where You Find the Fault Symptom Definition Workspace

To define symptoms based on fault message events, from the left menu, click Configure > Alerts, and then in the right pane, click Symptom Definitions. Select the Fault tab and click Add to define a property-based symptom in the workspace.

You can also define symptoms as you are defining alerts in the Alert Definition Workspace.

Table 1. Symptoms Workspace Options for Faults
Option Description
Fault Selector

Components that you use to create symptoms.

Based Object Type

Object against which the symptom is evaluated.

Fault definitions

Select the fault definition for the selected base object type.

Some object types do not have fault definitions, and other types have multiple definitions.

Symptom definition workspace

Drag the fault definition to the right pane.

Fault symptom definition

The fault events are published events from monitored systems. You can configure a single fault event symptom or add multiple symptoms.

For example, if your base object is host and you drag the Hardware sensor fault for unknown type fault definition, you then select one of two text strings indicating a fault.

Configure the options:
  • Fault event. Select one or more fault events that activate the fault. If you do not select a string, then any of the provided strings are evaluated.
  • Criticality level. Severity of the symptom when it is triggered.
  • Symptom name. Name of the symptom as it appears in the symptom list when configuring an alert definition, as it appears when the alert is generated, and when viewing triggered symptoms.
  • Wait Cycle. The trigger condition should remain true for this number of collection cycles before the symptom is triggered. The default value is 1, which means that the symptom is triggered in the same collection cycle when the condition became true.
  • Cancel Cycle. The symptom is canceled after the trigger condition is false for this number of collection cycles after which the symptom is cancelled. The default value is 1, which means that the symptom is canceled in the same cycle when the condition becomes false.