You can use version history to revert a workflow to a previously saved state. You can revert the workflow state to an earlier or a later workflow version. You can also compare the differences between the current state of the workflow and a saved version of the workflow.

Before you begin

Open a workflow for editing in the workflow editor.

About this task

Orchestrator creates a new version history item for each workflow when you increase and save the workflow version. Subsequent changes to the workflow do not change the current saved version. For example, when you create a workflow version 1.0.0 and save it, the state of the workflow is stored in the version history. If you make any changes to the workflow, you can save the workflow state in the Orchestrator client, but you cannot apply the changes to workflow version 1.0.0. To store the changes in the version history, you must create a subsequent workflow version and save it. The version history is kept in the database along with the workflow itself.

When you delete a workflow, Orchestrator marks the element as deleted in the database without deleting the version history of the element from the database. This way, you can restore deleted workflows. See Restore Deleted Workflows.

Procedure

  1. Click the General tab in the workflow editor and click Show version history.
  2. Select a workflow version and click Diff Against Current to compare the differences.

    A window displays the differences between the current workflow version and the selected workflow version.

  3. Select a workflow version and click Revert to restore the state of the workflow.
    Caution:

    If you have not saved the current workflow version, it is deleted from the version history and you cannot revert back to the current version.

    The workflow state is reverted to the state of the selected version.