To upgrade NSX Data Center for vSphere, you must upgrade the NSX components in the order in which they are documented in this guide.

NSX Data Center for vSphere components must be upgraded in the following order:
  1. NSX Manager appliance
  2. NSX Controller cluster
  3. Host clusters
  4. NSX Edge (see Note)
  5. Guest Introspection
Note: Edge Services Gateways can be upgraded at any time after the NSX Manager upgrade. However, logical routers cannot be upgraded until the NSX Controller cluster and host clusters have been upgraded. See Operational Impacts of NSX Upgrades for more information about upgrade dependencies.

The upgrade process is managed by the NSX Manager. If the upgrade of a component fails or is interrupted and you need to repeat or restart the upgrade, the process begins from the point at which it stopped; it does not start over from the beginning.

The upgrade status is updated for each node and at the cluster level.