You can specify the number of hosts to add to your SDDC based on the amount of computing and storage capacity required for your SDDC. You can also create clusters and distribute the hosts between these clusters.

Note: When you specify the hosts, by default, a RAS (Reliability, Availability, and Serviceability) node is added to your rack. For example, if you specify three hosts, an extra host is placed in the rack to serve as a RAS node. A RAS node provides spare capacity for SDDC upgrades and maintenance. If the hardware of an existing host fails, a RAS node is used to replace the host.

You can create clusters when you order an SDDC or after the SDDC is activated. The initial cluster is named Cluster-1 and it contains management VMs. The management workloads are deployed on Cluster-1 resulting in reduced usable capacity for your workloads. Additional clusters that you create are numbered sequentially, Cluster-2, Cluster-3, and so on.

After your SDDC is activated, you can:
  • Monitor the status of your hosts and clusters.
  • Add clusters.
  • Move the hosts between clusters.
  • Delete clusters.
For more information, see Managing Hosts and Clusters.

You can also Order Additional Hosts if necessary.